All things European were to be seen at Saturday’s 17th Annual EuroFest, formerly known as the Bug Run. We saw many new faces, new cars racing and new show vehicles in addition to the faithful friends who support this great event.
A special thank you to Donovan and Tressa Latimore of Latimore Racing Engines for sponsoring this event and guaranteeing the largest purse yet of $500 to the Pro/Super Pro winner. In addition to this payout, a special thank you goes to Bren Hartman and Jerry Neidlinger for sponsoring Bren & Jerry’s Nice Dream where the winners of the Pro/Super Pro class and the Street class race for a cool $100, and the runner-up racers of each class race for $50. Reny Villemure of Flat Rock took home both in the Pro/Super Pro class which amounted to $600 for his payday. It was a Villemure Family top three final with father and sons finishing in the winner, runner-up and semi-finalist positions.
German Auto Service LTD of Walker sponsored the elite Top 20 car show, and the special People’s Choice award voted upon by anyone present at this prestigious event.
Racing details are below, times are listed dial-in, reaction time, elapsed time and miles-per-hour.
Pro/Super Pro
Winner Reny Villemure, Flat Rock, 7.48, .4551, 7.463, 93.24 def. Pete Villemure, Taylor, 8.40, foul, 8.524, 78.29, semi-finalist Andy Villemure, Rockwood, 7.80, foul, 8.286, 82.33.
Troy Mcnair, Mansfield, OH, 10.05, .005, 10.175, 64.53 def. Jessica Matthes, Pullman, 10.50, .364, 10.785, 65.34, semi-finalists Ron Easton, Niles and Randy Easton, Niles.
Bren & Jerry’s Nice Dream
Pro/Super Pro
Reny Villemure, Flat Rock, 7.48, foul, 8.756, 73.10 def. Troy Mcnair, Mansfield, OH, 10.05, foul, 10.269, 66.76.
Jessica Matthes, Pullman, 10.50, .145, 11.003, 70.01 def. Pete Villemure, Taylor, 8.40, .022, 8.296, 79.77.
Top 20 Car Show Winners
Mike Mullins of Ortonville, 1977 Bus, Donnie Olivia of Niles, 1974 Beetle, Al Bulgrin of St. Joseph, 1964 Volvo, Mike Franke of Sawyer, 1987 Vanagon, Chuck Vanportfliet of Cedar Springs, 1998 Beetle, Rafael Centeno of Joliet, IL, 1975 Bus, Zach Sturgeon of Zeeland, 1979 Scirocco, Harold Bloomer of Wyoming, 1979 Rabbit, Bil Chapple of Marshall, 1968 Karmann Ghia, Eric Nichols of Muskegon, 1964 Beetle, Eleazar Garcia of Chicago, 1967 Split Pickup, Michael Reames of Lawton, 1977 Rabbit Deluxe, Douglas Clink of Fremont, 1957 Beetle Deluxe, Paul Lehman of Walker, 1981 Rabbit Pickup, Omar Gonzalez of Chicago, 1957 Bus, Leo Galvez of Elgin, IL, 1966 Fastback, Balta of Cicero, IL, 1984 Jetta Coupe, Balta also won the People’s Choice Award.
The 18th Annual Fall EuroFest will be held on Sunday, October 6.