Nostalgia Drag Racing League Shares Stage with Nitro Burners and Jet Dragsters~Four of the winners of this year’s NHRA Hot Rod Reunion at Bowling Green, Ky., including 7.0 champion Jeff Sanborn of Shelbyville, Tenn., will be competing for Nostalgia Drag Racing League championships this week in a race-within-a-race at US 131’s 15th annual Funny Car Nationals.


The NDRL, featuring pre-1980s’ cars and trucks like the 1972 Dodge Colt driven by current Pro Gas point leader Sal Petrulis of Howell, will provide the undercard for two eight-vehicle shootouts in the Funny Car Chaos Series featuring nostalgia nitro-burners including the Motor City-based “Detroit Tiger” Chevy Monza and the “Buzzy’s Bomb” Chevy Nova driven by Mark McElwee of Port St. Lucia, FL.


Other likely entries include the “Blue Max” Dodge driven by Texan Ronny Young, Chicago’s Marc White in Frank and Debra Ousley’s “Crop Duster” Dodge, Joey Haas and the “Nimrod” Ford Mustang, Allen Middendorf and the “American Outlaw” Dodge, Jordan Ballew’s “Ballew Thunder” Nova, point leader Ken Singleton’s “High Risk” Monte Carlo and Jeff Cameron’s “Magnolia Missile” Pontiac.


The Saturday-Sunday event also features the Lagana brothers’ track record-holding “Nitro Ninja” Top Fuel dragster, the Larsen Motorsports jet dragsters, ageless Bob Motz and “The Original Jet Truck” and world record-holding wheelstander “Nitro Mike” Kunz of Mission, B.C.


The NDRL, the largest organization devoted exclusively to racing the vehicles popular during the Original Muscle Car Era of the 1970s, crowns series champions in four classes: 7.0, 7.50, Pro Comp and Pro Gas.


NDRL qualifying rounds will coincide with Funny Car qualifying at 7 and 9 p.m. on Friday with one last qualifying round on Saturday at 12:30 p.m. eliminations at 3 p.m.


Bowling Green winners Sanborn, Dan Dishon of Logansport, IN, (Pro Comp), Randall Boles of Slaughters, KY, (7.5) and Jim Hayes of Troy, OH, (Pro Gas) will be among the favorites along with current point leaders Petrulis, Michael Sexton of Bloomington, IN, Pat Malloy of Buchanan, VA and Todd Kapp of Springfield, IL.


Adult day-of-the-event tickets are $15 Friday and $25 Saturday but discounted tickets are available on-line at at a substantial discount – only $12 on Friday and $19 on Saturday. Daily tickets for kids 6-12 are $7 at the gate or $5 in advance. Kids under six are free when accompanied by a ticketed adult.


* * * *

MARTIN, Mich. – Current point standings for racers competing for national championships in the Nostalgia Drag Racing Association series contested in conjunction with the 15th annual Funny Car Nationals Sept. 6-7 at US 131 Motorsports Park:


7.0 Class – 1. Michael Sexton, Bloomington, IN, front engine dragster, 64; 2. Don Nave, South Whitley, IN, front engine dragster, 59; 3. “Rocketman” Robbie Freels, Island, KY, front engine dragster, 55; 4. Jeff Sanborn, Shelbyville, TN, roadster, 53 (2019 Bowling Green winner); 5. Cory Millet, Piqua, OH, 1932 Bantam roadster, 52. Other notables: Dana Glick, 1968 Chevy Camaro; Sue Christopherson, Clarkston, MI, 1957 Chevy coupe; Billy Smith, Pickerington, OH, roadster; Gordon Horn, Rockport, IN, 1963 Corvette; Kurt Duckworth, Weirton, WV, 1938 Fiat Topolino.

7.5 Class – 1. Pat Malloy, Buchanan, VA, front engine dragster, 59; 2. Bo Boles, Slaughters, KY, 1923 Ford T-model, 56; 3. Jarrod Bradshaw, Utica, KY, roadster, 55; 4. Kerry Millet, Piqua, OH, 1941 Willys roadster, 43; 5. James Hayes, Troy, OH, 1958 Chevy Corvette, 41. Other notables: Randall Boles, Slaughters, KY, 1957 Chevy (2019 Bowling Green winner); Brian Freund, Columbus Grove, OH, dragster; Kelly Key, Island, KY, 1934 Bantam roadster; Justin Shaffer, Lincoln, IL, 1932 Bantam roadster; Dave Waters, Wildwood, MO, 1941 Willys.

Pro Comp – 1. Todd Kapp, Springfield, IL, 1923 Ford T-roadster, 88; 2. Nick Melone, Chicago, IL, 1923 Ford T-roadster, 74; 3. Dan Dishon, Logansport, IN, 1927 Ford, 72 (2019 Bowling Green winner); 4. Shane Rasler, Wolcottville, IN, 43; 5. Jeff Lawson, Lexington, KY, 1927 Chevy, 37. Other notables: Shane Bowman, Albany, IN, 1923 Ford T-model; Gary Williams, Mattoon, IL, roadster; Davin Reckow, Kingsley, MI, roadster; Adam Satterfield, Lexington, KY, 1932 Bantam roadster; Tommy Cook, Columbia, KY, 1934 Chevy.

Pro Gas – Sal Petrulis, Howell, MI,1972 Dodge Colt, 77; Tie, Bob Mitchell, Cincinnati, OH, 1969 Dodge Dart, and Jim Hayes, Troy, OH, 1972 Chevy Vega (2019 Bowling Green winner in Gas), 68 each; 4. Sam Patrick, Sand Point, 1937 Chevy, 59; 5. Mike Cutler, Dawson, IL, 1955 Chevy, 58. Other notables: Nick Dishon, Kokomo, IN, 1969 Camaro; Jaxon Messamore, Hanson, KY, 1970 Camaro; Bob Perkins, Milton, Ontario, 1967 Dodge Coronet R/T; Kyle Renfroe, Home, MI, 1962 Corvette; Kenny Robinson, Greentown, IN, 1967 Ford Fairlane.