Szotek’s Westfalia Gets “People’s Choice” Recognition at 150 Vehicle Car Show~

Battle Creek’s Bren Hartman won some of his own money, Brookville, Ohio’s John Ream reached the final round of Street ET for the eighth straight time and Richard Szotek’s Westfalia dazzled the car show crowd Sunday at the 17th Fall Eurofest at US 131 Motorsports Park.

Presented by Latimore Racing engines, the expanded and more inclusive version of US 131’s iconic Bug Run included an all-European car show featuring more than 150 vehicles from which Szotek’s Paw Paw-based bus was singled out as winner of the “People’s Choice” award.

On the track, Ream won Street ET for the fourth time in his last eight appearances.  Unfortunately, he couldn’t double up, losing in the Bren and Jerry’s Nice Dream bonus race finale to Hartman.

Hartman and fellow racer Jerry Neidlinger teamed up to fund the Bren and Jerry’s Nice Dream bonus race in which the Pro/Super Pro winner at each Eurofest event races the Street winner for an extra $100.  The second place finisher takes home an extra $50.

* * * *

MARTIN, Mich. – Results from Sunday’s 17th Fall Eurofest at US 131 Motorsports Park presented by Latimore Racing Engines and featuring the Bug Run.  Hometowns are Michigan unless otherwise indicated.  Race results include reaction time, track time, target time and finish line speed:

PRO/SUPER PRO – Bren Hartman, Battle Creek, .227, 8.055 on a 7.800, 76.32 mph, def. Pete Villemure, Taylor, .049, 10.504 on an 8.400, 75.69 mph.  Semifinalists – Chuck Fryer, Marseilles, Ill., and Reny Villemure, Holland.

STREET – John Ream, Brookville, Ohio, .341, 10.805 on a 10.600, 59.68 mph, def. Jessica Matthes, Pullman, .263, 11.583 on a 10.800, 68.93 mph.  Semifinalists — Phil McClish, Willard, Ohio, and Troy McNair, Mansfield, Ohio.

BREN AND JERRY’S NICE DREAM WINNERS RACE – Bren Hartman, Battle Creek, .050, 7.962 on a 7.800, 85.53 mph, def. John Ream, Brookville, Ohio, .177, 10.738 on a 10.600, 63.85 mph.

BREN AND JERRY’S NICE DREAM RUNNERS-UP RACE – Pete Villemure, Taylor, .137, 8.609 on an 8.400, 75.19 mph, def. Jesse Westover, Pullman, .185, 11.031 on a 10.800, 69.33 mph.

Car Show Top 20 – Richard Szotek, Paw Paw, 1973 Westfalia (People’s Choice Award); Bailey DeBusk, Whitehall, 2014 Jetta Sport Wagen; Carl Bland, Bay City, 1964 VW Panel Bus; Ryan Niewoonder, Mattawan, 1983 Rabbit GTI; Marlene Klies Radar, Holland, 1965 VW Micro Bus; Doug Flint, Sturgis, 1972 VW Beetle; Tom Jackson, Kendallville, Ind., 1973 Thing; Will VanLandgevelde, Holland, 2000 Jetta Ute; Jeremy Sturgeon, Zeeland, 1961 Deluxe Sunroof VW Beetle; Paul Lehman, Grand Rapids, 1978 VW Rabbit; Craig Reeds, Muskegon, 1965 VW Beetle; Kyle Dendel, Allegan, 1958 Volvo; Doyle McKay, Livonia, 1974 VW “Baja Beetle”; Brandon Cooper, Wayland, 2004 VW Beetle; Anthony Julien, Grand Rapids, 1968 VW Beetle; Isla and Cece, Holland, 1965 VW Micro Bus; Joe Petlick, St. Joseph, 1965 VW Beetle; Sean McTaggert, Muskegon, 2016 VW Jetta; Eric Nicholes, Muskegon, 1965 VW Beetle; Alex Olvera, Sturgis, 1991 VW Golf GTI; Doug Clink, Fremont, 1957 Deluxe Sunroof VW Beetle.