‘American Outlaw,’ ‘ChiTown Hustler,’ Original Jet Truck, MDRS Pro Mods Headline~

Nitro Funny Cars, Top Alcohol Funny Cars, wild-and-erratic Pro Modifieds, Box and No Box bracket racing, and a smorgasbord of jets including Bob Motz’s legendary Original Jet Truck will share the spotlight Sept. 10-11 when the Funny Car Nationals returns to US 131 Motorsports Park after a pandemic-induced one-year hiatus.

Allen Middendorf of Columbia, IL, who won the 2019 Funny Car Nationals in his “American Outlaw” Dodge, returns to defend against Greg Jacobsmeyer of St. Louis, MO (“All-Star Dodge” 1970 Challenger), Chicago’s Rick Craft (Tom Motry’s “Drastic Plastic” Ford Mustang), Gary Krause of Buffalo, NY (“Moonshine Express” Ford Mustang), Vandalia’s Artie McElwee (“Buzz’s Bomber” Chevy Nova) and Joe Haas of Morrison, IL (“American Way” 1957 Chevy Bel Air).

The Top Alcohol lineup is equally star-studded with the “ChiTown Hustler” Dodge now campaigned by Larry Coglianese and the family of original team driver Pat Minick going up against another 2019 Funny Car Nationals winner, Steve Timoszyk of Belleville, in the “Detroit Tiger” 1980 Chevy Monza.  Monty Stoltz of Edgerton, OH (“Blue Thunder” 1969 Chevy Camaro) and Steve Crooks of Eastlake, OH (“Feeling Groovy” 1974 Chevy Vega) round out the field.

In addition to the Original Jet Truck, a Kenworth conventional powered by a General Electric J79 engine like those used in F4 Phantom fighter jets, the jet vehicle lineup also will feature the “Night Fire” jet Funny Car of Chicago’s Al Zukauskas (“Al Z”) as well as the Larsen Motorsports dragsters of two-time IHRA jet dragster champion and Michigan native Elaine Larsen and her teammate, Marine veteran Dewayne Hill.

Completing the program will be the Midwest Drag Racing Series featuring Pro Mods, a separate field of Alcohol Funny Cars, Top Sportsman cars and Top Dragsters along with the cars and drivers of the Great Lakes Stock Super Stock Association.

Other Pro Modified drivers include Joey Oksas of Fremont, CA (twin-turbo 1968 Ford Mustang), Todd Martin of Nichols Hills, OK (’68 Mustang), Jim Savuvich of Raymore, MO (’69 Camaro), Judd Coffman of Ashmore, IL (twin-turbo ’67 Mustang), Jonas Aleshire of Manito, IL (2006 Corvette), Mike Recchia of Roselle, IL (“Chicago Muscle” ‘69 Camaro), Randy Adler of Monee, IL (’57 Bel Air) and Keith Haney of Broken Arrow, OK (“Black Mamba” 2019 Camaro).

NHRA world champion Sean Bellemeur of Placentia, CA, is the current MDRS point leader in Alcohol Funny Car after taking the Bartone Brothers 2018 Camaro to the final round in races in both Texas and Oklahoma.  Ray Drew of Hales Corners, WI, a two-time NHRA JEG’s All-Star winner, is expected to challenge in his 2014 Mustang along with Shayne Westerfield of Lake Forest, CA. Ali Aryan of Bahrain, UAE, set the series record for the eighth mile at 3.610 at Bowling Green, KY, in 2019.

Box and No Box bracket racing will run separately until the finals, one from each class will then compete for an overall race winner.  Entry fee will be $50 and payout will be as follows:  round money starting with third round winners paying $50 per round.  No Box and Box runner-up will receive $500 each.  The event winner and runner-up will pay $1500 to win and $750 to runner-up.

Tickets are on sale in advance at www.us131msp.com.  Friday tickets in advance are $19, $25 at the gate, Saturday in advance $24, $30 at the gate.  Children ages 6-12 are $7 in advance and $10 at the gate, under six are free when accompanied by an adult.

Friday there are two pro qualifying sessions at 6 pm and 8 pm.  Test and Tune starts at 4 pm for Box and No Box and will run before and after the pro qualifying.

Saturday first round for Box and No Box starts after the 9 am Jr. Dragster time trial.  The third pro qualifying is scheduled for 11 am, and first round at 4 pm.  The nostalgia nitro funny cars and jet-powered vehicles will run at 6:30 pm and 9 pm.


# # # #