After Successful Exhibition, Roll Racing Will Be Added to the Fall Event at US 131~

Tony Julien’s 1968 Beetle convertible was the big winner off the track but it was Keith Allen of Big Rapids who dominated the on-track action at US 131 Motorsports Park in the 17th annual Summer Euro Fest presented by Latimore Racing Engines and featuring the Bug Run.

Julien won the People’s Choice designation by a single vote over Steve Mayville of Bellevue and Doug Clink of Fremont in the car show portion of the lifestyle event open for the first time to all European makes and models.  Julien, Mayville and Clink were joined by 17 others in an elite Top 20.

Meanwhile, Allen’s .061 reaction time forced Rockwood’s Andy Villemure into a breakout foul in the Pro ET final.  Allen went on to beat Street winner Philip McLish of Willard for the Bren and Jerry’s Nice Dreams title.  Villemure lost to John Ream of Brookville in the battle for the Bren and Jerry’s Nice Dreams runner-up trophy.

Race presenter Donovan Latimore of Mears and Nice Dreams Host Bren Hartman of Battle Creek were the losing semifinalists in PRO ET.  The event also featured a six-car exhibition of roll racing which will be contested at the Fall Euro Fest on Oct. 1.

* * * *

MARTIN, Mich. – Racing results from the Summer Euro Fest at US 131 Motorsports Park.  Hometowns are Michigan unless otherwise indicated.  Results include dial-in, reaction time, elapsed time and speed.

PRO – Keith Allen, Big Rapids, 7.71, .061, 7.805, 84.79 def. Andy Villemure, Rockwood, 7.55, .116, 7.520, 90.42.  Semifinalists – Donovan Latimore, Mears, and Bren Hartman, Battle Creek.

STREET – Philip McClish, Willard, 11.10, .259, 11.208, 63.60 def. John Ream, Brookville, 10.60, .224, 10.779, 63.03. Semifinalists – Dave Harley, Gobles, and Troy McNair, Mansfield.

BREN AND JERRY’S NICE DREAMS WINNER – Keith Allen, Big Rapids, 7.71, .070, 7.748, 82.72 def. Philip McClish, Willard, 11.10, .297, 11.146, 64.07.

BREN AND JERRY’S NICE DREAMS RUNNER-UP – John Ream, Brookville, 10.60, .152, 10.698, 63.31 def. Andy Villemure, Rockwood, 7.55, -.216, 7.525, 90.33.

CAR SHOW WINNERS (Top 20) – Tony Julien, Grand Rapids,1968 Beetle ragtop (People’s Choice Award); Steve Mayville, Bellevue, 1969 Bug; Doug Clink, Fremont, 1957 Beetle; James Rafferty, Standish, 1970 Karmann Ghia; Bo Nepip, Three Rivers, 1973 Thing; Michael Julien, Rockford, 1960 Kario convertible; Marlene Rader, Holland, 1965 VW Microbus; Ron Webster, Dearborn Heights, 1960 Beetle/Baja; Bill Chapple, Marshall, 1958 Beetle convertible; Jeremy Sturgeon, Zeeland, 1961 Deluxe Sunroof Beetle; Zach Sturgeon, Zeeland, 1979 Scirocco; Chuck Van Portfliet, Cedar Springs, 1998 Beetle; Scott Wilson, Oakwood, IL, 1974 Super Beetle; John Waksko, Granger, Ind., 1967 Bug; Tom Jackson, Kendallville, IN, 1973 Thing; John Kowalczyk, Jenison, 1969 Karmann Ghia; Mike Guthrie, Battle Creek, 1967 Volkswagen convertible; Randy Gray, Beaverton, 1962 Beetle; Paul Lehman, Walker, 1978 Rabbit; Dave Barnett, Holland, 1957 Beetle; Richard Deming Jr., Hastings, 2013 GTI (Kid’s Choice Award).