For Immediate Release

Marckini’s Clutch Top ET Win Earns a Berth on US 131 Bracket Finals Team


MARTIN, Mich. – Katelyn Smith of Sterling Heights swept both Mojo Quick 16 events and David Marckini of Grand Rapids got a big win in Top ET to highlight the rain-shortened final weekend of racing in the Lane Automotive Bracket Series at US 131 Motorsports Park.


Marckini used a .018 package to edge Brooke Nellis of Muskegon in the Saturday Top ET final by a mere .007 of a second.  That win provided him with just enough points to race his way onto the 50-driver team that will represent US 131 in the IHRA Division 5 Bracket Finals.


By reaching the Saturday finals, Nellis also solidified her position on the US 131 team that will host to eight others Sept. 24-27.


Meanwhile, Smith used a .024 package to beat Mike Staley of Kalamazoo in Saturday’s Quick 16 before doubling up on Sunday when final round opponent David Sharbondy was guilty of a .002 foul start.  Sunday rain washed out the program before winners were crowned in Top ET or Modified.


Other weekend winners were Wes Buckley of Genoa, Ohio, former track champ Ron Hagar of Clark Lake, Doug Maatman of Holland, Danika Cox and newly-crowned track champion Rylie Vanaken, both of Coldwater, Bryce Buehrer of West Unity, Ohio, Aurora Wanamaker of Plainwell and Kase Powell of Elwood, Ohio, who swept both Begginer Jr. Dragster races.


Hagar actually won a battle of champions that was also a family affair, beating son Donnie in the Saturday Street final thanks to a great .004 reaction time that pushed the three-time and reigning track champ into a breakout foul.


* * * *


MARTIN, Mich. – Results from the season’s final race in the Lane Automotive Bracket Series contested Labor Day weekend at US 131 Motorsport Park.  Hometowns are Michigan unless otherwise indicated.  Results include reaction time, track time in relation to target time and finish line speed:



TOP ET – David Marckini, Grand Rapids, .018, 6.280 on a 6.280, 110.48 mph, def. Brooke Nellis, Muskegon, .019, 4.896 on a 4.890, 140.41 mph.

MODIFIED – Wes Buckley, Genoa, Ohio, .005, 6.549 on a 6.480, 109.41 mph, def. Aaron Starbuck, Grand Junction, .073, 6.318 on a 6.310, 108.12 mph.

STREET – Ron Hagar, Clark Lake, .004, 8.388 on an 8.360, 82.90 mph, def. Donnie Hagar, Clark Lake, .007, 8.658 breakout on an 8.670, 79.24 mph.

MOJO QUICK 16 – Katelyn Smith, Sterling Heights, Mich., .020, 4.554 on a 4.550, 151.57 mph, def. Mike Staley, Kalamazoo, .014, 4.373, 155.82 mph.

MASTER JR. DRAGSTER – Danika Cox, Coldwater, .008, 7.905 on a 7.900, 81.05 mph, def. Braden Peters, .038, 7.920 on a 7.900, 81.55 mph.

ADVANCED JR. DRAGSTER – Rylie Vanaken, Coldwater, .014, 8.961 on an 8.950, 73.72 mph, def. Sidney Mason, Newport, .024, 9.036 on an 8.980, 72.82 mph.

BEGINNER JR. DRAGSTER – Kase Powell, Elwood, Ind., .158, 11.888 on an 11.900, 55.79 mph, def. Lexie Klinger, PawPaw, .040, 12.209 breakout on a 12.300, 51.74 mph.



STREET – Doug Maatman, Holland, .065, 8.107 on a 7.990, 88.60 mph, def. Michael Kirbitz, Holly, foul.

MOJO QUICK 16 – Katelyn Smith, Sterling Heights, .021, 4.598 on a 4.590, 150.20 mph, def. David Sharbondy, Laporte, Ind., foul (-.002).

MASTER JR. DRAGSTER – Bryce Buehrer, West Unity, Ohio, .060, 7.956 on a 7.900, 79.77 mph, def. Lizzie Martel, Carleton, .054, 7.993 on a 7.900, 80.89 mph.

ADVANCED JR. DRAGSTER – Aurora Wanamaker, Plainwell, .098, 8.978 on an 8.960, 74.40 mph, def. Aubree Morris, Holland, .040, 8.964 breakout on an 8.970, 71.70 mph.

BEGINNER JR. DRAGSTER – Kase Powell, Elwood, Ind., .095, 12.001 on an 11.900, 55.24 mph, def. Rebekah Peterson, Richland, .170, 11.990 on an 11.900, 54.49 mph.