Martin, Wied Double-Up in Jr. Dragster Bonanza; Perrone Claims Advanced Title~


Results from Sunday’s Bottom Bulb Bash and Jr. Dragster Bonanza on August 1.  Norwalk, Ohio’s Jon Lowery overcame US 131 track champion Bill Schmidt’s .003 reaction time Sunday and won the final $5,000 share of the purse in the annual Bottom Bulb Bash and Jr. Dragster bonanza.

Lowery was down by .023 of a second at the start but ran 5.745 against a 5.740 target to best the 2020 Modified Champion from Fruitport by a scant .027 of a second to conclude three days of competition at Michigan’s fastest track.

In the Jr. Dragster classes, Alyssa Martin doubled-up at the Masters level, following up her Saturday win over Braden Peters with a Sunday conquest of Tyler Wied of Neenah, WI, whose brother, Carson, also won a second title, beating Saturday semifinalist Ethan Russell of Adrian for the Beginner title.

Advanced Jr. champion on Sunday was Austin Perrone of Ionia, who got a free ride when final round foe Vince Tiburzi of Ann Arbor fouled out by .003 of a second.

* * * *

MARTIN, Mich. – Sunday results from the annual Bottom Bulb Bash and Jr. Dragster Bonanza at US 131 Motorsports Park.  Hometowns are Michigan unless otherwise indicated.  Results include reaction time, track time, target time when applicable and finish line speed:

NO BOX – Jon Lowery, Norwalk, Ohio, .026, 5.745 on a 5.740, 119.55 mph, def. Bill Schmidt, Fruitport, .003, 5.675 on a 5.620, 123.73 mph.  Semifinalist – Jason Ford, Beaver Creek, Ohio.

MASTER JR. DRAGSTER – Alyssa Martin, Beaverton, .013, 8.023 on an 8.070, 80.80 mph, def. Tyler Wied, Neenah, WI, foul.  Semifinalist – Summer Gibson, Onsted.

ADVANCED JR. DRAGSTER – Austin Perrone, Ionia, .094, 8.937 on an 8.930, 73.09 mph, def. Vince Tiburzi, Ann Arbor, foul (-.003).  Semifinalists –  Autumn Gibson, Onsted, and Alaina Ray, Hamilton.

BEGINNER JR. DRAGSTER – Carson Wied, Neenah, WI, .067, 11.969 on an 11.980, 50.53 mph, def. Ethan Russell, Adrian, .165, 11.911 breakout foul on an 11.970, 55.07 mph.  Semifinalists – Kemper Wanamaker, Plainwell, and Brayden Baehr, Amherst, Ohio,