[et_pb_section admin_label=”section”][et_pb_row admin_label=”row”][et_pb_column type=”4_4″][et_pb_text admin_label=”Text” background_layout=”light” text_orientation=”left” use_border_color=”off” border_color=”#ffffff” border_style=”solid”]

Date posted: 5/21/2016 11:18:19 PM

Lagana stopped the quarter mile timers in 4.599 seconds and 323.970 miles per. Wurtzel was close behind at 4.820 at 260.87 mph, nut unfortunately hurt his motor.  The show also featured fuel altereds, nostalgia Funny Cars, nostalgia Pro Stock cars, jet Funny Cars, a wheelstander and, finally, Bob Motz and “The Original Jet Truck.”  Motz layed down an impressive 6.847 at 219.19 mph.On Sunday, it will be Chevys, Chevys and more Chevys with Chevy-only bracket races, a GM and Chevy car corral, Chevy-centric swap meet and car-and-truck show judging culminating with the Best in Class and Best of Show awards.

The first round of show awards were presented Saturday with Frank Clark of Belding given the “Outstanding Engineered” award, Joel Koskan of Wood, S.D., earning the award for “Outstanding Paint,” John Gleason of Belmont for “Outstanding Interior,” Bill Thorn of Clio for “Outstanding Engine” and Brian Cornish of Lawton for “Outstanding Workmanship.”

Outstanding awards in category went to John and Miriam Madges of Grand Rapids in Stock, Bob Meyer of Kalamazoo in Street and Jim Dechnik of Kalamazoo in Modified.

The Producer’s Choice awards went to Don Cox of Fort Wayne, Ind., for his 1957 Bel Air; Lylia Cooper of Dowaglac for her 1968 Camaro; Paul Van Nos of Kalamazoo for his 1971 Camaro, Roger Gaynor of Owosso for his 1966 Nova; John Hansen of Jensen for his 1934 Chevy and Chris Olrich of Toledo, Ohio for his 1960 Bel Air.