Strange, Rush, Zynda Among Other Winners in Weather Shortened Race at US 131

Imports and Domestics split the Quick 8 and Quick 32 titles with Domestic taking the Quick 8 title and Imports taking the Quick 32 title.

Garden City’s Jimmy Detrick powered his way to the Quick 8 title, Westland’s David Strange prevailed in the No Time class and Chicago’s Ricky Rush earned Quick 32 honors Saturday in the sixth annual Imports vs. Domestics Showdown at US 131 Motorsports Park.

In a scheduled two-day event compacted into one because of inclement weather, Detrick won wire-to-wire in the Quick 8 feature, qualifying No. 1 at 5.802 seconds and then shutting down Floridian Juan Illanasmiura in the final.

Edgar Rivera of Perth Amboy, NJ, won the Import Bracket title and Leo Zynda III of Clinton Township just missed doubling up in Super Gas.  Zynda won the first final, beat Paul Brown of Cass City, but couldn’t overcome the .018 reaction time of Howell’s Pat Debottis in the second.

Other winners were Steve Town of Bloomingdale and Crag Meyer of Kendallville, IN, in Super Street; Devin Heitzman of Grand Rapids, Ohio, and Plainwell’s Daniel Hedges in Super Comp.  Honorable mention to Paul Brown who, in addition to losing a decision to Zynda in Super Gas, also was runner-up to Meyer in Super Street. 

* * * * 

MARTIN, Mich. – Results from the sixth annual Imports vs. Domestics Showdown Saturday at US 131 Motorsports Park:       

Quick 8 – Jimmy Detrick, Garden City, .091, 6.056, 235.60 mph, def. Juan Illanasmiura, Orlando, FL, .069, 11.930, 72.63 mph.

No Time – David Strange, Westland, def. Danny Garbarino, Grand Rapids.

Quick 32 – Ricky Rush, Chicago, Ill., .161, 7.088, 193.47 mph, def. Derik Timmer, Saranac, .047, 7.496, 183.52 mph.

Super Comp – Devin Heitzman, Grand Rapids, OH, .009, 8.910, 165.44 mph, def. Rock Haas, Commerce, .070, 8.929, 156.47 mph.

Super Gas – Leo Zynda III, Clinton Township, .005, 9.911, 158.39 mph, def. Paul Brown, Cass City, .009, 9.919, 157.07 mph.

Super Street – Steve Town, Bloomingdale, .126, 10.962, 114.36 mph, def. Duwayne Dileski, Ft. Myers, FL, .130, 11.072, 104.85 mph.

Import Bracket – Edgar Rivera, Perth Amboy, NJ, .147, 9.927 on a 8.800, 171.93 mph, def. Juan Rivera, Chicago, Ill., .326, 12.049 breakout on a 12.100, 120.77 mph.

Super Street #2 – Craig Meyer, Kendallville, IN, .011, 10.999, 138.76 mph, def. Paul Brown, Cass City, .069, 10.958, 137.90 mph.

Super Gas #2 – Pat Debottis, Howell, .018, 9.939, 161.52 mph, def. Leo Zynda III, Clinton Township, .051, 9.909, 163.93 mph.

Super Comp #2 – Daniel Hedges, Plainwell, .035, 9.791, 110.58 mph, def. Howard Michael, Newport, foul.